3 ways to follow World Bank Group activities at the 2019 Spring Meetings

Our 2019 Spring Meetings is just around the corner and it’s time to get 042418-art_exhabition_preston-086_forganized. Main stage speakers include representatives from top-notch institutions and organizations such as the United Nations, National Geographic, World Trade Organization, Bloomberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, among others.

The Spring Meetings of the Boards of Governors of the World Bank Group and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an event that brings together central bankers, ministers of finance and development, private sector executives, representatives from civil society organizations and academics to discuss issues of global concern, including the world economic outlook, poverty eradication, economic development, and aid effectiveness.

This year’s events will take place in Washington, D.C., April 8-14, 2019.

Learn about the new ambitious journey—a “moonshot” that will help countries accelerate progress by bringing high-speed connectivity to all. Listen to and engage with experts as they discuss the urgent need to put human capital at the heart of policy solutions. And discover what melting of the Himalayan glaciers, caused by climate change and black carbon from pollution, poses.

If you’re like those of us global development professionals, you’re anticipating meeting other peers who live and breathe ending poverty, attending some great sessions, and hearing some amazing speakers on the mainstage. You’re probably also looking through the schedule trying to figure out which sessions to attend or tune in.

We’ve got you covered!

To make that task just a little easier, here are three ways to follow what the #WBGMeetings has to offer.

1. Connect with top development experts.

This year’s speakers, delegates and attendees include top thought leaders and experts who will share the best solutions for today’s global development issues.

Thousands of delegates from our member countries, observer organization representatives and members of the press attend the Meetings. Hundreds of accredited civil society members also participate in the Meetings. Don’t miss your chance to connect with them face-to-face or online.

© World Bank
© World Bank

If you’re attending in person, stop by the Digital Media Zone (DMZ) to participate in an interactive installation to be shared on our World Bank Instagram feed or story on which you can chart your own path toward ending poverty. At the DMZ, you can also take a selfie or record a short video with our Twitter Mirror to be shared with our Twitter audience in English, French, Spanish or Arabic.

If you’re a journalist covering the Spring Meetings, the Press Lounge located at the World Bank Lobby would be your go-to zone to conduct interviews, connect, exchange information and get an inside look at what’s new at the Meetings.

Looking for publications, look no more. The Spring Meetings bookstands will feature World Bank Group and IMF publications for sale. Click here for more information about the World Bank Group publications.

If you need a break, check our World Bank Group Visitor Center and get a hands-on experience with our top-notch Virtual and Augmented Reality tools that will show you the history of the World Bank Group and the work we do throughout the world.

2. Engage on social media.

We’ll be live tweeting our World Bank Group events on our Twitter channels in English, Arabic, French and Spanish. Share, like and retweet!

Join the discussion and submit your questions and remarks for events speakers and experts to answer!

© Bassam Sebti/World Bank
© Bassam Sebti/World Bank

3. Watch online if you can’t be at the Meetings in person.

We’ve got you covered with World Bank Live, the World Bank’s digital platform for live-streaming and engaging with global audiences. Block out time now to watch our events live, and in case you miss it, you can still catch up with your favorite events on our events recap page or watch a replay. Don’t forget to tune in to our Facebook Live interviews with top-notch global development influencers, as well as our short 60-second videos with experts sharing their knowledge on all things global development.

© Bassam Sebti/World Bank
© Bassam Sebti/World Bank

Here’s a rundown of some of the events that we’ll be live-streaming on World Bank Live. For more, view the full schedule and subscribe to our Global Newsletter! With our Live Blog, we are also bringing these activities closer to you, so you won’t miss a thing! Bookmark, read, watch, share and come back for the recaps.

Investing in People: Power of the human capital

THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL CASE FOR HUMAN CAPITAL INVESTMENTS
April 10, 2019 | 14:00 to 15:00 ET, 18:00 to 19:00 GMT | #InvestInPeople

BUILDING HUMAN CAPITAL IN AFRICA: THE FUTURE OF A GENERATION
April 11, 2019 | 9:30 to 11:00 ET, 13:30 to 15:00 GMT | #InvestInPeople

THE LEARNING REVOLUTION
April 12, 2019 | 14:30 to 16:00 ET, 18:30 to 20:00 GMT | #LearningRevolution

Power of Technology

WILL ROBOTS DISRUPT EAST ASIA’S DEVELOPMENT MODEL? TECHNOLOGICAL CHANGE AND THE FUTURE OF JOBS IN THE REGION
April 11, 2019 | 9:30 to 11:00 ET, 13:30 to 15:00 GMT | #EmergingEastAsia

CAPITAL MARKET DEVELOPMENT AND THE FIN TECH REVOLUTION: OPPORTUNITIES AND CHALLENGES
April 11, 2019 | 13:00 to 14:30 ET, 17:00 to 18:30 GMT | #FintechRevolution

ALL AFRICA’S DIGITAL ECONOMY MOONSHOT
April 12, 2019 | 10:00 to 11:30 ET, 14:00 to 15:30 GMT | #DigitalAfrica

MISSION BILLION: TRANSFORMING COUNTRIES AND EMPOWERING PEOPLE THROUGH DIGITAL IDENTITY
April 12, 2019 | 14:00 to 15:45 ET, 18:00 to 19:45 GMT | #ID4D #MissionBillion

GOVTECH: A MAJOR OPPORTUNITY FOR SIMPLER, MORE EFFICIENT AND TRANSPARENT PUBLIC SERVICE DELIVERY IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES
April 13, 2019 | 11:00 to 12:30 ET, 15:00 to 16:30 GMT | #GovTech

Fragility, Conflict and Violence

PREVENTING CONFLICT, PROMOTING PEACE
April 11, 2019 | 11:00 to 12:00 ET, 15:00 to 16:00 GMT | #dev4peace

DRIVING PRIVATE INVESTMENT TO FRAGILE SETTINGS
April 11, 2019 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GMT | #InvestingFCS

BEYOND BORDERS: A LOOK AT THE VENEZUELAN EXODUS
April 12, 2019 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GM | #VenezuelanExodus

STATE OF THE AFRICA REGION: THE ROLE OF REGIONAL COOPERATION IN TACKLING FRAGILITY
April 13, 2019 | 9:30 to 11:00 ET, 13:30 to 15:00 GMT | #AfricaSOR

Growth and Poverty

BEYOND UNCERTAINTY: LEVERAGING TRADE TO REDUCE POVERTY
April 10, 2019 | 15:30 to 16:30 ET, 19:30 to 20:30 GMT | #WBGTrade

ON THE MENU: CAN FOOD BE THE PLANET’S MEDICINE?
April 10, 2019 | 10:00 to 11:30 ET, 14:00 to 15:30 GMT | #FutureofFood

MAKING GROWTH WORK FOR THE POOR
April 12, 2019 | 12:00 to 13:00 ET, 16:00 to 17:00 GMT | #EndPoverty

Environment

FROM SOURCE TO SEA: INNOVATIVE WAYS TO TACKLE MARINE POLLUTION
April 11, 2019 | 14:30 to 16:00 ET, 18:30 to 20:00 GMT | #BeatPlasticPollution

MELTING HIMALAYAN GLACIERS: PEOPLE, ENVIRONMENT, ECONOMIES
April 12, 2019 | 10:30 to 12:00 ET, 14:30 to 16:00 GMT | #MeltingGlaciers

Gender

DEVELOPMENT MARKETPLACE: INNOVATIONS TO ADDRESS GENDER BASED VIOLENCE
April 09, 2019 | 15:00 to 16:00 ET, 19:00 to 20:00 GMT | #GBVsolutions

BOOSTING GROWTH THROUGH DIVERSITY IN FINANCIAL LEADERSHIP
April 13, 2019 | 14:00 to 15:00 ET, 18:00 to 19:00 GMT | #DiversityInFinance

Got Questions?

We’re here to answer them. This is how you can reach us.